Visa on Arrival

Passport holders from 21 countries and territories listed below may apply for visas at the immigration checkpoints on arrival for the purpose of tourism and will be granted permission to stay in Thailand for a period not exceeding 15 days.


Qualifications and required documents

1.  Must be citizens of countries and territories listed below

2.  Passport must be genuine and has more than 30 days validity

3.  Purpose of tourism, not exceeding 15 days

4. Must have a confirmed return ticket usable within 15 days

5. Must notify the address in Thailand that can be verified

6.  Submit one 4x6 cm. headshot photo (taken no longer than 6 months)

7. Having proof of means of living expenses (10,000 Baht per person or 20,000 Baht per family)

8.  Not under section 12 of Immigration Act B.E. 2522 (A.D.1979)

9.  Visa fee of 1,000 Baht must be paid in cash and is non-refundable


Visitors who enter the Kingdom with Visa on Arrival generally cannot file an application for extension of stay, except in special cases of illness which prevents them from travelling. The application can be submitted at the Office of Immigration Bureau , Immigration Division 1, Government Centre B, Chaengwattana Soi 7, Laksi, Bangkok 10210, Tel +66 (0) 2141-9889. Website:


List of countries and territories which are entitled to apply for visa on arrival:

Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan


List of Immigration Checkpoints which provide facilities for issuance of visa on arrival:

1.     Suvarnabhumi Airport

2.     Don Muang International Airport , Bangkok 

3.     Chiangmai International Airport , Chiangmai 

4.     Phuket International Airport , Phuket 

5.     Hatyai International Airport , Songkhla 

6.     U Tapao Airport , Rayong 

7.     Mae Sai Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai 

8.     Chiang Saen Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai 

9.     Chiang Khong Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai 

10.   Betong Immigration Checkpoint, Yala 

11.   Sadoa Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla 

12.   Samui Airport , Surat Thani 

13.   Sukhothai International Airport, Tak Immigration Checkpoint 

14.   Bangkok Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Bangkok 

15.   Sri Racha Immigration Checkpoint , Chonburi 

16.   Mabtaput Immigration Checkpoint , Rayong 

17.   Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai 

18.   Samui Immigration Checkpoint , Surat Thani 

19.   Phuket Immigration Checkpoint , Phuket 

20.   Satun Immigration Checkpoint , Satun 

21.   Krabi Immigration Checkpoint , Krabi 

22.   Songkhla Harbour Immigraion Checkpoint , Songkhla 

23.   Chiangrai Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai 

24.   Surat Thani Airport Immigration Checkpoint , Surat Thani

25.   Pattaya Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi

26.   Klong Yai Immigration Checkpoint, Trat

27.   Pong Nam Ron Immigration Checkpoint, Trat

28.   Aranyaprathet Immigration Checkpoint, Aranyaprathet

29.   Mukdaharn Immigration Checkpoint, Mukdaharn

30.   Tak Immigration Checkpoint, Tak

31.   Padang Besar Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla

32.   Sungai Kolok Immigration Checkpoint, Sungai Kolok

33.   Nongkhai Immigration Checkpoint, Nongkhai

34.   Bueng Kan Immigration Checkpoint, Bueng Kan

35.   Phibun Mangsahan Immigration Checkpoint, Ubon Ratchathani

36.   Tha Li Immigration Checkpoint, Loei

37.   Nakhon Phanom Immigration Checkpoint, Nakhon Phanom

38.   Nan Immigration Checkpoint, Nan

39.   Ban Prakob Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla

40.   Kuan Don Immigration Checkpoint, Satun

41.   Tak Bai Immigration Checkpoint, Narathiwat

42.   Bukit Tal Immigration Checkpoint, Narathiwat

43.   Samut Prakan Checkpoint, Samut Prakan

44.   Kanchanaburi Land Border Checkpoint, Kanchanaburi

45.   Prachuab Khiri Khan Checkpoint at Hua Hin Airport, Prachaub Khiri Khan

46.   Phusing Land Border Checkpoint, Sisaket

47.   Satun Checkpoint at Koh Lipe Marine Port, Satun

48.   Trang Airport, Trang