ASEAN Day and ASEAN Chairmanship Handover Ceremony News

ASEAN Day and ASEAN Chairmanship Handover Ceremony

On 8 August 2016, H.E. Mr. Soonthorn Chaiyindeepum, Ambassador of Thailand, officials of the Embassy and Ms. Kongkan Chitratanachinda, Principal of Thai Language and Culture School in Qatar, as well as Ambassadors, officials and community representatives of other six member states of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), namely Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Brunei and Vietnam, celebrated the ASEAN Day flag-raising ceremony to mark the 49th Anniversary of the founding of ASEAN. On this occasion, H.E. Mr. Wong Kwok Pun, Ambassador of Singapore to Qatar and outgoing Chairperson of the ASEAN Committee in Doha (ACD) also handovered the chairmanship of ASEAN Committee in Doha (ACD) to H.E. Mr. Wilfredo C. Santos, Ambassador of the Philippines to Qatar. The ACD was established in 2012 to further promote ASEAN awareness and forge cooperation between ASEAN and Qatar.